Google Workspace security whitepaper

How Google Workspace protects your data

Data usage

Our philosophy

Google Workspace customers own their customer data, not Google. Customer data that Google Workspace organizations put into our systems is theirs, and we do not scan it for advertisements. We offer our customers a detailed Data Processing Amendment that describes our commitment to protecting customer data. Furthermore, if customers delete their data, we commit to deleting it from our systems within 180 days. Finally, we provide tools that make it easy for customer administrators to take their data with them if they choose to stop using our services, without penalty or additional cost imposed by Google.

No advertising in Google Workspace

There is no advertising in the Google Workspace Core Services, and we have no plans to change this in the future. Google does not collect, scan or use data in Google Workspace Core Services for advertising purposes. Customer administrators can restrict access to Non-Core Services from the Google Workspace Admin console. Google indexes customer data to provide beneficial services, such as spam filtering, virus detection, spellcheck and the ability to search for emails and files within an individual account.

Limited data use

Google does not use any of your data for any purpose except to provide you with the relevant Google Workspace service. For example, when customers use the Cloud Translation API, Google will not make the content of the text that you send available to the public, or share it with anyone else, except as necessary to provide the Cloud Translation API service.

The same holds true when different Google Workspace services communicate with each other. For instance, the Cloud Translation API may also be used within Google Workspace properties such as Docs, Sheets, and Apps Script. When a Workspace customer makes a translation request in the above Workspace properties, the Workspace property will send the source language, the target language, and the text to be translated to the Translate servers. The Workspace end user’s credentials are not included in the information sent. The response from Translate has the translated text, detected language of the source text (if a source language is not supplied), and any error codes when an error takes place.2

None of the data sent to Translate is permanently stored by the Translate servers. Some of the data described above, however, may be temporarily used for multiple days to enhance latency and reliability. Furthermore, data submitted, stored, sent or received by customers or their end users in the above-mentioned services is not used to train Google’s translation models.